The Magic Finger – Roald Dahl

img_2966

Genre: Children’s Fiction
Pages: 64
Star Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️
Opening Line:

“The farm next to ours is owned by Mr and Mrs Gregg.”

Goodreads Synopsis:

The little girl in this story is very unusual. When someone makes her angry, and when she can’t stop herself, she flashes a punishment on them with a magic flashing finger. The results are fantastic, magical and very funny.

I knew from the off that this would be a quick, entertaining read. It doesn’t have the imagination and depth as Charlie and the Chocolate Factory or The Witches but it is nevertheless a charming, funny story. It’s one of those children’s stories that holds a clear message, and because this is Roald Dahl, the story seems somewhat dark at times.

When I began reading, I thought that the focus of the story would be on what various things happen as a result of the Magic Finger. However, we are introduced to the main characters, and the powers of the little girl’s finger, then most of the story surrounds the Gregg family, and how they were affected.

The story is odd but funny. It is dark in places, and thought-provoking in others. At one point it reminded me of George Orwell’s Animal Farm, but only very briefly.

I’ve given this three stars because I would have liked the Magic Finger to have featured more regularly, and for there to have been a variety of crazy scenarios as a result of it. But on the other hand I think that Dahl did a good job of presenting an important lesson and making it fun to read.

I don’t think we ever find out the little girl’s name, or if we do, I can’t find it! She’s a great character with a clear personality – I just wish she’d have been in it more.

My favourite bit? The ending.

The ending made me chuckle with satisfaction.

Link to the book on Goodreads:

The Magic Finger

Leave a Reply

