Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – Ransom Riggs

img_3744

Author: Ransom Riggs
Genre: Fantasy/Young Adult/Horror
Pages: 352
Published June 7th 2011 by Quirk
Star rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Opening line:

“I had just come to accept that my life would be ordinary when extraordinary things began to happen.”

Goodreads synopsis:

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

My Goodreads review:

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children, #1)Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’m surprised that I read this so fast! I thought it would take longer to read, but the beginning was so gripping that the pages flew by. I admit that at the start there was promise for the book to be a lot creepier than it turned out to be, but nevertheless I enjoyed the adventure!

The photographs are my favourite bit, and part of reading on would be to reach the next photo. I love how they were worked into the narrative – they are very believable.

I’m not getting too excited for the other books in the series, but I just hope they aren’t a disappointment.

View all my reviews

The prospect of reading this book got me very excited. This was mainly due to the use of photography throughout the book, as I’ve only read one other book that incorporated photos into the narrative, and that is Every You, Every Me by David Levithan. But what I really looked forward to was the creepiness that surrounds this book.

The cover is enough to give you chills, showing a young girl who is levitating a few inches off the ground. This immediately gives me thought of ghosts, spirits and other ‘horror’ genre type creatures. Although after reading the book I am hesitant to class this as horror. I wanted to be terrified, and at first I was creeped out in the way I wanted to be. I was gripped, but this was short lived once we were past half way.

Let me talk about the photographs, because this book wouldn’t be half as good without them. They are real photographs and you can tell by looking at them that they haven’t been altered or made for the purpose of this book.

However, when reading the book, you can tell in some cases that the book has been written around the photographs. This is a great idea and is very creative, but the book didn’t sustain it’s scary and mysterious beginning. I know what I want this book to be like, and it started off well but didn’t carry the element of horror that I craved.

If you like adventure, fantasy, creepy photos and time travel then it’s still worth reading. If you want to be scared out of your mind…you might be left feeling a bit disappointed.

I will be reading the other books in the series, but I don’t think any of them is going to reach the high-level scare factor that I’m looking for. Mostly, I just want to see more unsettling photos!

Link to the book on Goodreads:

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

IMDB Trailer for the film:

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (2016) dir. by Tim Burton

4 comments

  1. I’ve had this book on my Goodreads list for a while now and with your review, I think it’s time to start reading. Having been written around the photographs is interesting, so with that, I hope I have the same positive reaction as you did. Great review.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

