My top 5 books for post-uni reading

Five books I vow to read once uni is over…

IMG_20170527_122215_408

You may have noticed that reviews lately have been few and far between (or just plain non-existent) and this is down to dedicating my time to uni.

It’s not even that I’ve been reading and neglecting to write a review…I’ve barely been reading at all and am in what is commonly referred to as a ‘reading slump’.

The one book I am reading when I get the chance is The Dust on the Moth by Darren Simpson, and that’s only because I’m reviewing it for Lucifer magazine.

One of the things keeping me going is the thought of all the reading I’ll be able to do once I have handed in my final assignment (and maybe even before then once the intensity of May/June disperses).

So here are five books that I am particularly looking forward to reading, but should probably have read by now anyway…

1. The Princess Bride – William Golding

I vow, that the very second I have even an ounce of freedom to read and relax I will be diving glasses-first into this novel. My expectations are very high, but I know that I’ve never heard a bad word about it, and that it is somewhat of a cult novel…at least I know the film definitely is. I usually prefer books to films, so this books takes the number one spot because I am aching to read it.

2. The Book Thief – Markus Zusak

I’m very aware of the fact that I should have read this by now, but it’s a fairly big book and when I read it I want to be able to really get into it and find out why it is loved by so many readers. I don’t know a lot about the plot, but I know that Death is a character and that alone is enough to make me give it a minimum of 3/5 stars before I’ve even opened the book.

3. American Psycho – Bret Easton Ellis

Yet another one I’ve had sitting on my shelf un-read for far too long. In my first year of uni on my creative writing course we had this recommended to us and I felt sure I would go ahead and read it…but three, almost four years on and I’ve only managed to read the opening line. If I don’t start reading this in 2017, you have permission to force me to read an erotic novel in 2018.

4. The Humans – Matt Haig

I love Matt Haig and I’ve only read Reasons to Stay Alive. I’ve also read a lot of his tweets. But I’ve never read his fiction, and I feel like I need to before I can call myself a proper fan. The Humans has been recommended to me by someone whose bookish opinion I hold in very high regard, which is why this book has a place on my list. Really, the goal is just to read more books by Matt Haig.

5. Frankenstein – Mary Shelley

What would a list like this do without a proper classic? I’ve saved this one for last just because I’ll read it as my Hallowe’en book, which means it’s not a huge priority. I’m also currently using an old copy of this for blackout poetry, and it’s proving to be a good book to experiment with. I really do need to read it this year though. I’ve put it off long enough, and I have a really nice edition that I want to be seen in public reading.

So there we have it, these are the books I am going to indulge in once I have left the world of being a student. Of course, I’m hoping to get a job of some description, but I already know I’ll be working on a few projects, both personal and with other people.

Regular book reviews will resume once I am sure that I can get my uni work sorted with my sanity still intact. I’ve got a bunch of author interviews lined up until September, so that’s something to look forward to.

Stay bookish!

Leave a Reply

